Serbia: Novi Sad to Belgrade

After spending the night in relative luxury in Hotel Novi Sad with its crisp white sheets and warm shower, I made a slow start to what I thought would be an easy ride to Belgrade. While still making my way out the city center I saw two women touring on bikes and went to talk with them. Having not seen anyone on a bike since leaving Budapest almost a week earlier I was interested having a chat but these two rather unfriendly cyclists clearly were not big on conversation or company so I soon moved on past them.

There were a two firsts for me in and around Novi Sad; it was the first time I saw what is obviously an Eastern Orthodox church and I saw my first Roma/Gypsies in Serbia.

The trip between Novi Sad and Belgrade is one of my least memorable days. There was little that makes it stand out besides the hills. Although the Serbians are the friendliest people I have encountered thus far, the trip was spent primarily on primary roads with little opportunity to interact with people along the way and instead I fought it out with heavy traffic on poor and hilly roads!!!

Once more, these pretty handy profiles and maps are from Ascent software that I have been using along with my GPS and will write more about soon.

Here are a few pictures from today:

Crossing the Danube on leaving Novi Sad

A village I passed along the way (Petrovaradin I think)

A random street in Novi Sad


A picture taken on my arrival in Belgrade

Thanks to everyone for all the encouragement and support I have received so far. Thanks too to everyone that has taken the time to leave comments. I appreciate them. I will be spending a few days in Belgrade resting up, doing some maintenance, and planning the route ahead. Check back more soon for more posts.

3 thoughts on “Serbia: Novi Sad to Belgrade

  1. i fell randomly on your blog.
    first of all, accept my greatest respect for what you’ve achieved!

    Secondly, that random street in Novi Sad is called Beogradska street. My humble addition to your loads of interesting data! 🙂
    And here you can have a look at some of my photos from my recent visit in Novi Sad.

  2. Also, btw, the “village” isn’t Petrovaringrad – that’s the fortress in Novi Sad. Your photo is of Sremski Karlovci, and you’ve photographed one of its landmarks, the first grammar school in Serbia (1791).

  3. Petrovaradinska tvrđava is fortress, and yes, the photo is the first grammar school of Serbia, today it is the Gymnasium of Karlovci

Leave a comment